top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJacki Fish

The Laughing Fish

Updated: Sep 11, 2018

My name is Jacki Fish and I am not funny.


Regardless of the lack of personal humor I have, I recognize great humor. I have been OBSESSED with stand-up comedy for nearly ten years now. When I say obsessed, I mean I listen to stand-up comedy clips or acts every night as I’m falling asleep. In my opinion, ending the day with a laugh means that any bad things that happen during the day can disappear and you can rest peacefully until the following day. Kind of cheesy, but it works for me.


My favorite comedians (as of right now) include John Mulaney, Trevor Noah, John Oliver, Michael Che and Ali Wong. Each comedian is so different and makes me laugh about things that happen in the world that may not actually be funny (this is one of the reasons I love comedy). Comedy has the power to bring people together and get people talking about current events, even if they don’t realize it. Laughter truly is the best medicine and I will stand by that idea forever.


This blog series will be reviews of comedy special, shows, episodes, acts, clips, etc. that I watch over time. Although I may not be funny, there is no lack in my knowledge of funny people.


 

As a treat to the lovely women in my life, I have declared this week my WEEK OF WOMEN! Women in comedy don’t get nearly enough attention as they should and I want to change that. I want to try and convince anyone who reads this blog post (if anyone reads these blog posts) to please support a woman comedian this week. Take my recommendations or find your own hilarious comedian, but spend one hour of your time this week and watch a stand-up act given by a woman (you may find you like her style more). I normally don’t post a blog post every day, but because I know so many funny women in my life, I decided every day this week deserves a special shoutout to a funny comedian.


So take a seat, grab your popcorn and join me in appreciation for this wonderful week of badass women.


 

Netflix Special - John Mulaney: The Comeback Kid

Reviewed: September 17, 2018

Performed: November 13, 2015


Happy Monday! I have decided that every week I’m going to start off with a comedy review because we can all use a laugh to start off our week.

John Mulaney is one of my favorite comedians for many reasons. I didn’t discover him until recently (I know, shocking right?) and I watched all of his Netflix specials within 24 hours. He is exactly what he says he is: boyish. I love him for that and his comedy is so different because he embraces his personality and uses that energy to bounce off the audience.


Although The Comeback Kid came out in 2015, the laughs are still relevant. Prior to this special, he had recently married his wife, which means he introduces a completely different branch of comedy that he hadn’t before. Although he does make fun of his wife (I imagine she’s used to this form of comedy at this point), the audience can tell he really loves her. Between his wife and his dog Petunia, you really get to know his family with this Netflix special.


This stand up act includes jokes about Catholicism (what more could you need), Back to the Future and how his parents loved him but didn’t like him. The transitions in his comedy special are absolutely brilliant. You never know what you’re going to get next, but you’re guaranteed laughter.


As always, I’m not going to give anything too big away, but I want to comment on John Mulaney’s personality outside of his comedy acts. Although outside of his comedy act, he is very much the same unapologetic person. He stands up for what he believes in and doesn’t back down because of his personal beliefs. I highly recommend watching his comedy specials and following him on social media. He is quite the hilarious man.


 

Netflix Special - Chelsea Peretti - One of the Greats

Reviewed: August 24, 2018

Performed: June 13, 2014


First and foremost, if you haven’t watched Brooklyn 99, stop reading this post and get yourself a free trial of Hulu and watch it immediately. It truly is one of the most innovative and downright hilarious shows I have ever seen and I recommend it completely. There is diversity, there is representation and there is humor. Everything you want in a television show.

Now, back to Chelsea Peretti for the last day of Week of Women. One of the Greats is exactly what I want in my comedy. It has surprises, it has deprecation and it has relatable humor that people (especially women can appreciate).


As always, I don’t want to give anything away. However, I do want to share a quote that Peretti gave when asked about her comedy special.

“I feel like women are frequently seen as guests in the comedy world—you know, a kid sister of the “real comedians.” I like the idea of positioning myself as legendary rather than trying to fit in. Now do I see myself like that every day? No, but I think it’s a funny attitude and maybe on some weird spiritual level maybe it’s a good attitude.”

I had no idea about this quote until I started doing research on her stand-up act, but it is the exact reason I wanted to do this Week of Women. Women are just as funny as men, sometimes more so! Women deserve recognition and deserve to be successful in anything, but especially comedy. Spend an hour of your weekend watching a stand-up comedy act and let me know which one you picked! Laughter is good for the soul and after a long week, I’m sure you could use some relaxation.


Although Week of Women may be over, we should make this a Life of Women.

 

HBO Half-Hour Special: Adele Givens

Review: August 23, 2018

Performed: October 4, 1996


First of all, Adele Givens reminds me of my 6th grade math teacher and what I imagine she would act like at a party. This made the special so great for me.


Second, welcome to day four of my Week of Women! The women I have reviewed so far have been divine, hilarious and very informative. I’m so glad I did this and now I want to only listen to women comedian. Alas, I will return to men next week.

Givens had me LAUGHING. I laughed most minutes of this half-hour special and did not regret picking this special at all. Even though it was performed in 1996, Givens stuck with broad topics that are still relevant today. Again, I’ll never give anything away in these comedy reviews. However, there is one bit about having to real in your “inner fake bitch” and it was one of my favorite bits of comedy I have heard in a long time. I am going to talk about it for weeks, I know I will.


My favorite part of Givens’s stand-up act is that she laughs at her own jokes. It’s a little thing, but I love it when comedians appreciate their own work. If I were a comedian (and as we know, I am not funny so that is not in the near future), I would laugh at all my jokes. I’m one of those people that tells a joke that no one laughs at by I can’t stop laughing at my own jokes. So, I love the fact that Givens knows she’s funny and expresses that emotion on stage.


Givens also has the most reactive audience out of any of my Week of Women specials so far. And I love it. Women supporting women. Audiences supporting comedians. Women audiences supporting women comedians. HERE. FOR. IT. Part of the reason I wanted to do this Week of Women is because I wanted to give some credit to underrepresented names in comedy. Adele Givens deserves so much recognition because she is truly hilarious. I beg of you, watch this special. It is available on HBO and clips from her other stand-up acts are on YouTube.


Reel that fake bitch in.

 

HBO Half-Hour Special - Margaret Cho

Reviewed: August 22, 2018

Performed: July 28, 1994


You guys, I tried really hard. I really did. I wanted to explore comedians from before my time and I watched multiple stand-up acts before I found one that I could actually relate to. I don’t blame the comedians. Comedy is in the moment. It isn’t about events that have happened; it’s about events that are happening. However, Margaret Cho really did make me laugh.

I love diversity in comedy. Cho really brought a new representation to Asian comedy and I really appreciate the way she addresses the audience and introduces her backstory. Comedy isn’t just happening in America. It is a national joy and all people should be able to enjoy jokes from comedians of all races, religions, genders, etc. (exactly why I am having my Week of Women).


Cho does a great job of relating to all members of her audience, but she does a fabulous job of really showing how minorities in America were (are) treated. This is such an important topic to bring up in modern comedy because people still don’t realize the struggles minorities go through every day. Representation is huge and Cho helps represent two very important groups of people. Although it is a bit old, I completely recommend checking out Margaret Cho and her 30-minute special on HBO. It can also be found on YouTube.


Also, I’d really like to meet Cho’s mom.

 

Netflix Special - Iliza: Elder Millennial

Review: August 21, 2018

Release: July 24, 2018


Man, oh man, did I pick the second day of Week of Women right? Iliza Shlesinger delivers a hilarious stand-up act that, at some points,  had me close to tears. I have watched a few of Shlesinger’s acts and she has a way of telling stories that is so comical (shocker she got into comedy, right). She transforms into different characters throughout her set and does these funny little voices that add a dimension to her comedy.

Not only was the way that she performs a fabulous pick for my day two, the message couldn’t have been more on point. Unlike Hannah Gadsby’s performance, this act is directed towards women. Shlesinger speaks to the women in the audience and relates her personal issues to spread her messages and provide a few laughs. She goes into dating troubles, body issues and many other topics that pertain to women’s daily lives.


Although her stand-up act is directed towards women, men can still enjoy this performance. The witty remarks and different personalities give the stand-up act an edge that most performers forget to include. I absolutely recommend watching this piece and enjoying the crap out of Shlesinger’s mockery of how owners treat their dogs like babies.


This special can be found on Netflix. See you tomorrow for day number three of Week of Women!


 

Netflix Special - Hannah Gadsby - Nanette

Review: August 20, 2018

Release: June 19, 2018


The reviews and reactions to Hannah Gadsby’s Nanette have been stellar. From Twitter comments to David Harbour recommending the comedy special on Dax Shepard’s podcast, I felt it was my duty as a comedy connoisseur to make this the first stop on my Week of Women train. And all I have to say is woah.

I’m sure at this point you have read or heard some sort of review on this special. Whether it was an in-depth article or overheard someone talking about it while in line at the grocery store, this Netflix special broke the internet (sorry Kim Kardashian). Gadsby begins her stand-up act as a quiet, shy Australian (excuse me, Tasmanian) woman and ends the special as a powerful, unapologetic human. The transformation happens before your eyes and makes the audience feel every word she says down to their core.


I didn’t know exactly what this special was going to be about when I started it, so I want you to have the same surprise and genuine reaction as I did. I will say she goes in-depth about her opinions in comedy and why she wants to quit the genre. One of my favorite quotes in her special and the quote that I feel is one of the most powerful is about what she believes is the core of comedy.


“Punchlines need trauma.”


Gadsby is not wrong. Many comedians find humor in awful things and audiences choose to laugh at the jokes made in these stand-up acts. Watch any night time television show and you will find hosts and comedians making fun of actual events that go on in the world every day. This is part of why I love comedy so much. It brings people together in times of trauma and allows current events to seem less scary. Gadsby finishes her stand-up act with the other reason I love comedy: she wants to get people talking about an issue.


This blog post is far longer than any I have done before because I want to get people talking about this special. Gadsby’s dissection of comedy perplexes minds and really gets you thinking about what comedy comes from and the real reasons people should enjoy the genre. Take the time and watch this special and make opinions of your own.

This special can be found on Netflix. Join me tomorrow for day two of Week of Women!


I identify as tired, as well.

 

Zach Galifianakis: Live at the Purple Onion

Review: August 8, 2018

Release year: 2016


Zach Galifianakis. You know him. You love him. You can’t spell his last name (and because of this, I am going to be calling him by his first name in this post).

In one of the first stand-up comedy acts put on Netflix, Zach brings many different types of comedy to the stage...literally. The special is movie-like and switches between a few different settings, including interviews with his “brother,” Seth. His humor in this special is similar to that in his other work. His serious nature always has the audience questioning if he is telling the truth or joking (which always makes audience members laugh harder).


Many of his jokes are self-deprecating. He jokes about his childhood and his name. Many of his jokes revolve around his looks and how his look has changed over the years. There are so many different things I could say about Zach’s performance and his unique type of humor, but I think it’d be best if you just watch it yourself. The hour special goes by very quickly and keeps you wanting more. It can be found in four parts on YouTube.


It’s not a purse. It’s a satchel.

 

Netflix Special - Patton Oswalt - Annihilation

Review: July 27, 2018

Performed: October 17, 2017


I'd like to begin this review with the fun fact that Patton Oswalt is the voice of beloved cartoon rat, Remy, from the Pixar movie Ratatouille. With that being said, I pictured Remy the rat performing this comedy special. Moving on.


The best part of Oswalt’s comedy style is his choice of specific details throughout his special. He does not skimp around giving intimate details about his wife’s death (grab the tissues for this part of the special), his political views and his beliefs. This style gives the audience the ability to trust him and really dive into his actual jokes. These details make it easier to visualize his stories and take part in his jokes. They add an extra element to his comedy that really separates him from other comedians.

Patton Oswalt: Annihilation on Netflix.

As most comedians do, Oswalt interacts with the audience during one part of his special to question and mock audience members’ careers. The funny responses he gives proves his witty, quick-natured personality and allows the audience to relate and connect to Oswalt. As someone who has watched hundreds of comedy specials, relating to the comedian is extremely important. As lame as it sounds, if comedians don't let down their walls during stand-up acts, I don't trust the stories comedians tell. I know many stories are exaggerated or made up entirely, but a good comedian will convince the audience otherwise, which is exactly what Oswalt does. He breaks down the wall specifically when talking about his daughter and draws the audience in to show a certain vulnerability.


Oswalt’s stand-up is intriguing, funny and well-crafted. Because of this, I recommend this special. He reminds me of a normal person that would be fun to hangout with at a family cookout. Annihilation can be found on Netflix.


It’s chaos. Be kind.


 

Netflix Special - Hasan Minhaj: Homecoming King

Review: July 17, 2018

Performed: May 23, 2017


Hasan Minhaj is literally the best storyteller I have ever seen. When I sat down to watch Homecoming King on Netflix, I didn’t think I was getting what I ended up getting. I thought it was going to be a typical routine with satire and sarcasm (the type of routines I love), but Minhaj used a combination of visuals, lighting, world issues and storytelling to help send a message to the audience. The story begins when his parents immigrated to the United States from India.

Hasan Minhaj: Homecoming King on Netflix now

Minhaj was born in the United States and his mother had to move back to India to finish medical school. Some topics Minhaj discusses are the ins and outs of a high school romance, encountering racist peers who don’t understand the struggles of being an immigrant and his path to comedy. As I said, his storytelling is insane. He uses the audience’s emotions to relate to them and bring them on a journey throughout the special. It’s not just a comedy act, it is truly an experience.


Although his storytelling is my favorite element of his comedy routine, the visuals Minhaj uses adds to the act immensely. He uses images and visuals on a screen behind him to help tell his story and lets the audience see what he saw and experience what he experienced. Along with the visuals, the lighting makes the audience feel what he felt. From dark to light to yellow colors to red colors, the lighting subconsciously lets the audience’s mood change with the tone of Minhaj’s story. This is an extremely important element in his act because he brings up very deep issues throughout his routine. It helps transition the mood from funny to serious and bring it right back to funny.


Overall, I recommend this Netflix special for many reasons. The comedy is great, but the topics he discusses include some reminders the world needs to hear right now. You can find the entire special on Netflix or you can find clips of his comedy on YouTube.


Enjoy! #MrP #Calc


 


228 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page