top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJacki Fish

$1,025,171

How do you put into words one of the greatest things that has ever happened to you?

I'm not sure, but I'm going to try.

In September of 2015, I saw an ad on Facebook about applying for Dance Marathon's Morale team. Never heard of it? Don't worry, I hadn't either. However, I was lacking my "place" on campus, so I decided to give it a try. I filled out an application within an hour of the deadline and prepared for my interview. The following week I showed up to the third floor of Russell House and patiently waited until it was my turn to interview.

A guy called out my name and it was my turn to go. The questions this guy and girl asked me weren't what I expected. They were fun questions like, "What emoji would you be if you could be one?" (The upside down smiley face) or, "What children's show would you have wanted to be a part of?" (Rocket Power). I immediately felt comfortable and was able to loosen up with who later became some of the greatest influences in my life. And luckily, I must have made a good impression because a few days later I received an email saying I was a part of the 2015-2016 Morale team for Dance Marathon.

This was my very first memory with Dance Marathon. On March 3, 2018, I had my very last memory as a student with Dance Marathon.

Before I jump in, let me tell you a little bit about Dance Marathon at USC. This organization is completely student-run and raises money for Palmetto Health Children's Hospital. Specifically, we raise money for the Child's Life Program at the hospital. This program helps children and families in the hospital feel more comfortable and understand the complex world that is the inside of a hospital. I've held three completely different positions in this organization: Morale team captain, External Productions Director and Hero Relations committee member. Each position has taught me different things about the organization, about working with other people and about working with myself.

Now, let me take you through the day of Saturday, March 3, 2018.

This was my last Dance Marathon main event, but I had many firsts this day. This was my first main event without some of my best friends. This was my first main event in honor of my grandma's life. This was my first main event as a committee member. And this was my first main event with a seven-digit goal.

Early in the year, USC Dance Marathon set a public goal of $1,000,000. Big goal, right? You're telling me. This goal scared the absolute crap out of me. I knew we had it in us and if we crafted a specific plan for the year, we would easily hit it. Last year we were able to raise $703,289 and this was a HUGE number. Increasing by nearly 300k was going to be tough.

The morning of March 3, I shot straight up at 5 a.m. I was ready for the day. I had my bag packed and I stopped at Dunkin Donuts to gear up with some iced coffee. I knew the day was going to go by quickly, so I put on some of my favorite Dance Marathon songs. These songs include Rise Up by Andrea Day, Heroes (we could be) by Alesso, and my favorite, I Lived by One Republic. I sat in the parking lot of Strom for 30 minutes getting in my "main event feels" and appreciating everything that this organization has given me.

This organization gave me confidence. As soon as I joined Morale, I saw room for myself to grow. I found myself in positions that I wasn't used to. This organization has given me friends that know me better than anyone else.

Friends that see that same confidence in myself and help me grow. This organization has given me a passion. A passion for giving and helping others. A passion for fundraising and a passion for event planning. Most of all, this organization has given me hope. Given me hope that however many bad days this world sees, there are college students fighting for a better tomorrow. There are college students giving up many days of their year to raise as much money as possible for kids they've never met.

I was right. The day flew by. All of a sudden it was a little after lunch time and all Dance Marathon staff members were being summoned to our classroom for a meeting. This wasn't uncommon. All of my main events have included some sort of large team meeting discussing our progress throughout the day. This meeting was similar to the rest. Empower your heroes and remember your passion. What is your why? Why do you love Dance Marathon? Channel that and work your butt off one last time for the kids at Palmetto Health Children's Hospital.

My why stems from my first Dance Marathon memory. I didn't have any sort of emotional connection with any Children's Miracle Network Hospitals before my experience with Dance Marathon. However, when I saw how a group of college students collectively worked countless hours for people they had never met, my why blossomed. I do everything I do for the kids at Palmetto Health Children's Hospital. I want to help these kids find their own passions and find their own whys. However, my why comes from my peers in Dance Marathon. I've seen 19-year-old students stay up for 48 hours straight to dedicate themselves to Dance Marathon. I've seen students make relationships with corporate businesses and conduct themselves in such a professional way, all to benefit Dance Marathon. I've seen over 2,000 students spend one of their free Saturdays dancing for 14 hours for kids they've never met. When I need inspiration, that's what I think of. I channel the emotion and the dedication and the passion that my peers have to push just a little bit harder for these kids.

Our meeting gave me a bit of motivation for the day. I was feeling a bit down because of the missing pieces I felt during this Dance Marathon, but my Dance Marathon peers helped me out with that one. I was downstairs working the food station when one of my good friends came and asked me for help. I'm not going to lie, I was a little annoyed. I was doing my job downstairs and didn't want to be stuck at another job that threw off my schedule. I reluctantly went upstairs and was not quiet about my displease (so sorry Claudia). At the top of the stairs, I found out why Claudia wanted me to come upstairs so badly. I saw someone that caught my eye, ran over to him and uncontrollably jumped on him and hugged him because I was not prepared for the surprise of seeing him.

Remember a while ago when I told you about the guy who gave me my first Dance Marathon memory? He asked me all the questions at my Morale interview my sophomore year and then changed my life?

Yeah, that's Jamie. Jamie was my Recruitment Director my sophomore year and made me fall in love with Dance Marathon. I have never met anyone more passionate about an organization, nor have I met someone more involved as an alumnus. Jamie was a huge part of my Dance Marathon career and I don’t think I would have had gotten as involved as I did if it wasn’t for him.

Jamie is just one of the many influential people I've met within Dance Marathon. I met my best friend, Kimmie, through the necessity of connecting our two branches of Dance Marathon my junior year. We awkwardly fumbled through our first combined event and the rest was history. I reconnected with one of my good friends on my childhood soccer team, Amanda, when she held my hand during my first main event and watched us flip over half a million dollars. She saw me at my worst and she saw me at my best, but she always encouraged me in everything that I did.

I got to help Sona, a girl who went to my high school, fall in love with Dance Marathon and show her the ways that leadership can be displayed in many ways on campus. Dance Marathon has given me hope and confidence and passion, but the greatest thing Dance Marathon gave me was the joy of finding people who became my best friends.

The night of March 3, 2018, I waited for flip to come. This year I wasn't up on stage, so I stood off to the side to reflect on every Dance Marathon memory I've had. I thought of the people I've met. I thought of the lessons I've learned. I thought of the tears I've cried and the laughs I've laughed because Dance Marathon taught me how to give my all to something and then it taught me how to let loose. Most of all, I thought of how much flipping a seven-digit number would mean to this organization, this school and this hospital. One million dollars is a TON of money. That would do loads for the kids at Palmetto Health Children's Hospital and could make miracles beyond our belief.

Midnight came and flip began.

$1,025,171

We did it. One million dollars. One million miracles. One million feelings.


My Dance Marathon career may be over, but I know my passion won't stop there. The fire that was first lit my sophomore year continues to burn. That flame is lit inside of me and until it goes out, I will always and forever be...

For the kids.

-jf


For a video recap of USC Dance Marathon 2018, check out my video below.


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3tLv_nkKdeI



76 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page